

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

# South Carolina Board of Dentistry

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia, SC 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia, SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4599 • Contact.dentistry@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719 llr.sc.gov/bod

## **Dental Specialty Licensure Requirements and Application Process Overview**

Before calling in to the Board Office - You may check your application status online at: <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/bod/</u>

### **Licensure Requirements:**

A person is qualified to receive a certificate of licensure for dental specialty if the following requirements are met:

- 1. You must have a valid South Carolina General Dentistry License.
- You must successfully complete an advanced dental education program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) in a dental specialty recognized by the American Dental Association (ADA);

or

You are a diplomate of a national certifying Board recognized by the ADA.

3. You must have a good moral character.

### **Application Process:**

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
  - <u>Application Fee</u>: \$300 application fee must be submitted in order to transmit the application. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) *A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds.</u>*
  - Identification:
    - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
  - <u>Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence</u>
  - Letters of Reference: (Regulation: 39-1 B.2.) Original three letters of recommendation completed by licensed dentists. Letters must be signed and dated within six (6) months preceding the application date.

### Criteria of letters:

- Must be on dentist's letterhead
- Must attest to your good moral character.
- Indicate how long they have known you and in what capacity.
- Outline characteristics they believe qualify your for licensure in SC.

- **DEA Verification:** If you are registered with the federal and state Drug Enforcement Administration to prescribe controlled substances, you must submit verification of registration status.
- **Legal documentation of name change** (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- <u>Personal History Questions</u>: You will need to attach a written explanation for any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information section on a separate sheet of paper. Additional information may be requested by the Board Office or a Board appearance may be necessary.

#### 2. Documents to be sent directly to the Board from issuing agency/institution

- <u>Education Verification</u>: Contact your Dental School Registrar's Office and have an official transcript, with the seal and Registrar's signature, mailed directly to our office.
- <u>License Verifications</u>: Contact each state board you are currently or have previously been licensed with and have the license verification sent directly to the Board office at the above address. We do accept State Issued License Verification forms.
- <u>American Board Certificate</u>: You must request a certified copy of the certificate be sent to the Board.